New faculty appointment and promotions

Eight Associate Professors are promoted to the rank of Full Professor, and a new Full Professor with Tenure is appointed.
Top row, l to r: Maya Saleh, Richard Leask, Susan Bartlett and Brent Richards. Bottom row, l to r: Laila Parsons, Peter Lakatos, Michael Wagner and Faith Wallis.

During the closed session of its Thursday, April 26, 2018, McGill’s Board of Governors approved the promotion of eight Associate Professors to the rank of Full Professor, as well as the appointment of a new Full Professor with Tenure.

The appointments were made on the recommendation of the Statutory Selection Committee.

The following Associate Professors were promoted to Full Professor in recognition of their teaching and research excellence:

  • Susan Bartlett (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine).
  • Brent Richards (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine)
  • Peter Lakatos (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine) (Clinical)
  • Richard Leask (Department of Chemical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering)
  • Laila Parsons (Departments of History & Classical Studies and Islamic Studies, Faculty of Arts)
  • Maya Saleh (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine)
  • Michael Wagner (Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts)
  • Faith Wallis (Departments of History & Classical Studies and Social Studies of Medicine, Faculty of Arts)

The eight promotions are effective May 1, 2018.

As previously reportedJennifer Welsh will be joining the Faculty of Arts’ Department of Political Science and the new Max Bell School of Public Policy as the Canada 150 Chair in Global Governance and Security. The Board of Governors has also approved her appointment as Full Professor with Tenure. Prof. Welsh is a world-renowned scholar in international relations, Canadian foreign policy, and human security. She is currently Chair and Professor of international relations at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. Her appointment begins on January 1, 2019.

Prof. Welsh is one of two Canada 150 Chairs who will be joining McGill. The Board approved the appointment of the other incoming C150 Chair, cosmologist Jonathan Sievers, in December 2017. The Canada 150 Research Chairs Program, created in celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary, aims to attract top-tier, internationally based researchers and scholars whose accomplishments have made a major impact in their fields.