Honour Roll

Three McGill professors have been named to the Order of Canada for their outstanding lifetime achievements: neurologist Frederick Andermann, family medicine professor Ann Macaulay and Dennis Osmond, Emeritus Professor in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology.

On November 19, six McGill faculty were inducted as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada: Laurette Dubé, James McGill Professor of Consumer Psychology and Services Marketing and Management in the Desautels Faculty of Management; Yvan Lamonde, professor in the Department of French Language and Literature; James McGill Professor of History Brian Young; Jacques Derome, Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences; and Drs. Ernesto L. Schiffrin and Michel Tremblay of the Faculty of Medicine.

Henry Mintzberg, McGill University’s Cleghorn Professor of Management Studies, has been awarded this year’s Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize in the Social Sciences and Humanities, for his outstanding contribution to the cultural and intellectual life of Canada.

At the Prix de l’Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS) October 12 ceremony, biology professor Martin Lechowicz received the Prix Michel-Jurdant for excellence in environmental sciences. Robyn Tamblyn, Scientific Director of Clinical and Health Informatics Research Group and professor in the departments of medicine and epidemiology, and Dr. Allen Huang, Director of Geriatric Medicine at the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC), shared the Prix J.-Armand-Bombardier for their work on MOXXI Medical, an integrated delivery system for drug management.

For almost 30 years, the Government of Quebec has awarded the Prix du Québec to honour exceptional achievements in science and culture. On November 8, three McGill researchers became the latest recipients of this distinguished award: Lawrence Mysak, Canada Steamship Lines Professor of Meteorology and Director of the Earth System Modelling Group (Prix Marie-Victorin, natural sciences and engineering); Patrick Glenn, Peter M. Laing Professor of Law (Prix Léon-Gérin, social sciences); and Dr. George Karpati, Isaac Walton Killam Professor of Neurology in the Faculty of Medicine and Director of the Neuromuscular Research Unit at the Montreal Neurological Institute (Prix Wilder-Penfield, biomedical research).

Ariel Fenster, McGill chemistry professor, is the latest recipient of the NSERC Michael Smith Award for Science Promotion.

Three McGill biomedical researchers are among the 39 scientists recently named Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) international research scholars. Erwin Schurr, an investigator with the McGill Centre for the Study of Host Resistance, Eric Alan Shoubridge, professor in the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery and Department of Human Genetics at the Montreal Neurological Institute, and Nahum Sonenberg, James McGill Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and the McGill Cancer Centre, each receive a five-year award totalling nearly $500,000.

Anthropology professor Bruce Trigger earned the Society for American Archaeology’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his extraordinary accomplishments. He is the first Canadian to be so honoured.