Two for Science

More for Moore

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) has awarded the 2009 CAP Herzberg Medal is to Physics professor Guy Moore for the broad impact of his contributions to theoretical particle physics, such as the bulk and collective behaviour of quantum chromodynamics under extreme conditions of temperature and density.

This medal, which was first introduced in 1970, is awarded by the Canadian Association of Physicists for outstanding achievement by a researcherwho is not more than 40 years of age. The award is not limited to members of the CAP but the recipient must have spent the major part of his/her working career in Canada.

PhD student honoured

Randy Auerbach, a Psychology doctoral student, has been awarded the Distinguished Student Research Award in Clinical Psychology by the Society of Clinical Psychology’s Education & Training Committee, a division of the American Psychological Association. The Distinguished Student Research Award in Clinical Psychology honors a graduate student in clinical psychology who has made exemplary theoretical or empirical contributions to research in clinical psychology. Auerbach has developed two separate

but complementary lines of research in the areas of depression and risky behavior engagement.