Royal Society kudos for seven McGillians

On November 21 and 22, 2014, the Royal Society of Canada will honour seven McGill researchers for their outstanding contributions to the scientific research and the pursuit of new knowledge.

Professors Nigel Roulet, Peter S. McPherson, Constantin Polychronakos and Daniel Wise will be inducted as RSC Fellows, joining the ranks of the more than 150 McGill-affiliated Fellows inducted since 1966.

McGill professors Aashish Clerk and Madhukar Pai are among the first cohort named to the RSC’s new College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.  Together, the members of the College will address issues of particular concern to new scholars, artists and scientists, for the advancement of understanding and the benefit of society, taking advantage of the interdisciplinary approaches fostered by the establishment of the College.

Professor Philippe Gros will receive this year’s McLaughlin Medal, one of Canada’s most prestigious recognitions of excellence in medical research.

The induction ceremonies will be held at the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City.