News in brief for the week of April 18, 2011

Time to vote for the Greatest McGillian; Williams-Jones gets medal; Canadian Paediatric Society honours Dr. Denis Leduc; and Senate elections continue.

Great McGillian deadline

Time is running out for people to nominate the Greatest McGillian. As part of the University’s 190th anniversary, the McGill Alumni Association launched the contest to identify the graduate, student, professor, staff member, parent, benefactor or anyone with a connection to McGill who has had the biggest impact on its history or society. Deadline for nominations is April 30. Visit

Williams-Jones gets medal

Anthony “Willy” Williams-Jones has been named the 2010 recipient of the Geological Association of Canada’s Logan Medal. The highest award conferred by the Association is presented annually to an individual for achievement in Canadian earth science. Williams-Jones’s research is devoted mainly to understanding the genesis of hydrothermal mineral deposits through a combination of field-based, experimental and theoretical methods.

CPS recognizes Leduc

Dr. Denis Leduc has been honoured with the 2011 Distinguished Community Paediatrician Award by the Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS). Leduc, a professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the MUHC, was commended for “for his strong commitment to child and youth health and safety in his community” in the award citation.

Senate elections continue

Full-time, non-unionized members of McGill’s administrative and support staff are reminded that voting will continue until noon Friday, April 29, for one representative on Senate from each of three groups: Group 1 The Faculties of Arts, Education, Law, Management, Music, and Religious Studies; Centre for Continuing Education; and non-faculty administrative and support services reporting to the Principal, the Provost, the Vice-Principal (RIR), and the Secretary-General;  Group 2 The Faculties of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Dentistry, Engineering, Medicine, and Science; Libraries; and non-faculty administrative and support services reporting to the Deputy Provost;  Group 3 Non-faculty administrative and support services reporting to the Vice-Principals (Admin. and Finance) and (DAR). Employees are only eligible to vote for candidates in their group. Vote at