Law prof Jutras appointed to Order of Canada

Former dean joins two retired profs and nine McGill grads in receiving one of Canada’s highest honours
On December 27, Governor General Julie Payette named 120 companions, officers and members of the Order of CanadaSgt Johanie Maheu, Rideau Hall, OSGG-BSGG

As is Canadian New Year’s tradition, the Governor General of Canada, Julie Payette (BEng’86), closed out 2019 by announcing new appointments to the Order of Canada—including former Faculty of Law dean Prof. Daniel Jutras, two retired McGill professors, and nine McGill graduates.

The appointments comprise five Companions, 38 Officers and 77 Members. Created in 1967 to honour “people whose service shapes our society; whose innovations ignite our imaginations; and whose compassion unites our communities,” the Order of Canada is one of the nation’s highest honours. Close to 7,500 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

Former Law dean honoured

Prof. Jutras was appointed an Officer in the Order “for his contributions to the development of pluralist law internationally and for his contributions as a lawyer, professor, and university administrator.”

Daniel Jutras

Jutras is a full professor and holds the Wainwright Chair in Civil Law. He has held many roles in the Faculty, including as director of the Institute of Comparative Law, associate dean (admissions), and associate dean (academic). He served as interim dean of the Faculty of Law from 2009 to 2010 and as dean from 2010 to 2016.

From 2002 to 2004, Prof. Jutras was on leave from the Faculty to serve as executive legal officer of the Supreme Court of Canada. In 2013 and in 2018, the Supreme Court of Canada named him as amicus curiæ to make submissions in relation, respectively, to the constitutionality of proposed changes to the Senate of Canada and to the standard of review in administrative law. In 2016, the federal government appointed him to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments.

His distinguished career has earned him many honours, including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2013), the Advocatus Emeritus (Ad. E.) distinction from the Barreau du Québec (2014), and the Mérite du Barreau du Québec (2016).

“I am thrilled to see Professor Jutras’ contributions to the academy, to the administration of justice, and to the development of public law for the benefit of all Canadians acknowledged in this way,” said Dean Robert Leckey. “Congratulations, Daniel!”

Two retired profs made Members

Jutras was not the only professor honoured by the Order. Two retired McGill professors were made Members:

alcides lanza, director emeritus of the Schulich School of Music’s Digital Composition Studios, was honoured “for his decades-long contributions to the contemporary music scene and for championing Canadian music here and abroad”–while retired electrical engineering professor Arshavir Gundjian received the distinction in recognition of “contributions to recognizing and promoting Armenian culture in Canada and abroad.”

Nine grads also honoured

Six McGill alumni joined lanza and Gundjian as freshly minted Members of the Order:

  • Mitchell Cohen (BSc’72), president of the Daniels Corporation developer group, received his appointment in recognition of “his contributions to urban development and for his commitment to community building.”
  • Montreal lawyer, and a former vice-president of Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Marie Giguère (BCL’75) was honoured for “her leadership in commercial and corporate law, for her commitment to increasing the role of women in business, and for her dedication to the community.”
  • Université de Montréal medicine professor Pavel Hamet (PhD’72) was recognized for “his contributions to genetic medicine and to the development of new clinical treatments for hypertension and diabetes.”
  • Hal Philip Klepak (BA’68) was honoured for “his contributions to the humanities as a professor of history and strategy at the Royal Military College of Canada.”
  • Chair of the Board of Transcontinental Inc., and member of the Advisory Board of McGill’s Faculty of Law, Isabelle Marcoux (BA’91, BCL’94) received her appointment in recognition of “her role in promoting diversity within Quebec’s economic community and for her involvement in numerous fundraising campaigns.”
  • Longtime executive director of YWCA Peterborough Haliburton, an equity-seeking organization focused on helping women and children who have experienced violence and abuse, Lynn Margaret Zimmer (Management’02) was honoured “for her contributions to protecting victims of violence and for her advocacy of women’s rights.”

Additionally, three McGills were appointed Officers in the Order for their contributions to the health of Canadians. Geneticist and retired UQAM professor Karen Messing (MSc’70, PhD’75) was honoured for “her pioneering research into ergonomic work conditions, particularly as they affect women’s health.” Canadian Medical Hall of Famer Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg (MDCM’74) was honoured for “her contributions as an academic clinician and physician in the field of genetics, notably in the treatment of genetic disorders overrepresented in unique populations.” Clinician-scientist Dr. Bernard Zinman (BSc’64, MDCM’68), who was inducted into the Order as a Member in 2011, was promoted to Officer for “his contributions to diabetes research and for his development of advanced preventative therapies.”

The newest Order of Canada cohort will accept their insignia at a ceremony yet to be scheduled.