Canada Research Chairs Program announces new and renewed chairs for McGill Profs

Thirty-four Canada Research Chairs awarded to McGill researchers, in Tier 1 and Tier 2
The distinctive pin awarded all Canada Research Chairs.

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRC) stands at the centre of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world’s top countries in research and development. The CRCs aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. This season’s cohort reflects Canada’s diverse research talent and ushers on a new era of discovery.

McGill’s research projects supported by this new round of CRC funding range from population health informatics to indigenous nutrition, and from food sovereignty to earthquake seismology. Of the 34 CRC’s awarded to McGill researchers, 30 are new and four are renewals.

There are two types of Canada Research Chairs:

  • Tier 1 Chairs, valued at $200,000 annually for seven years with one opportunity for renewal, are for outstanding researchers, acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their field.
  • Tier 2 Chairs, valued at $100,000 annually for five years and renewable only once, are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field.

McGill researchers received 17 new Tier 2 Chairs and 13 new Tier 1 Chairs in this round. Four McGill researchers earned renewals on their Tier 1 and Tier 2 awards.

“It is truly an honour to be able to recognize research excellence at McGill,” said Christopher Manfredi Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic). “As Provost, I am taken by the breadth and depth of the scholarship pursued within our community and of the contributions our researchers make to advancing knowledge and improving health, science, and social outcomes. The Canada Research Chairs and our internal awards – the James McGill and the William Dawson awards – are intended to recognize and support world-class scholarship. My sincerest congratulations are extended to all of this year’s awardees.”

McGill’s spring 2019 round of CRC recipients:

  • Shirin Abbasinejad Enger, Canada Research Chair in Medical Physics, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Abdolhamid Akbarzadeh Shafaroudi, Canada Research Chair in Bio-inspired Hierarchical Multifunctional Metamaterials, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Karine Auclair, Canada Research Chair in Antimicrobials and Green Enzymes, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Rosemary Bagot, Canada Research Chair in Behavioural Neurogenomics, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Elena Bennett, Canada Research Chair in Sustainability Science, NSERC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Boris Bernhardt, Canada Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroinformatics of Healthy and Diseased Brains, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Stefanie Blain-Moraes, Canada Research Chair in Biosignal Interaction and Personhood Technology, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • David Brackett, Canada Research Chair in Popular Music and Society, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
  • David Buckeridge, Canada Research Chair in Population Health Informatics, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Jonathan Chevrier, Canada Research Chair in Global Environmental Public Health, CIHR, Tier 2 (Renewal)
  • Nicolas Cowan, Canada Research Chair in Planetary Climate, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Treena Wasonti:io Delormier, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition and Food Sovereignty, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Evan Fox-Decent, Canada Research Chair in Cosmopolitan Law and Justice, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Marie-Claude Geoffroy, Canada Research Chair in Youth Mental Health and Suicide, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Daryl Haggard, Canada Research Chair in Multi-Messenger Astrophysics, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Iwao Hirose, Canada Research Chair in Value Theory and the Philosophy of Public Policy, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Nada Jabado, Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Oncology, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Sébastien Jodoin, Canada Research Chair in Human Rights, Health, and the Environment, SSHRC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Edward Klorman, Canada Research Chair in Musical Analysis and Performance, SSHRC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Yajing Liu, Canada Research Chair in Earthquake Seismology, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Stephen Lomber, Canada Research Chair in Brain Plasticity and Development, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Mathieu Maheu-Giroux, Canada Research Chair in Population Health Modeling, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Maureen McKeague, Canada Research Chair in Genomic Chemistry, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Richard Menzies, Canada Research Chair in Tuberculosis Research, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Gerhard Multhaup, Canada Research Chair in Molecular Pharmacology, CIHR, Tier 1 (Renewal)
  • David Plant, Canada Research Chair in Optical Fiber Communications Systems, NSERC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Sarah Racine, Canada Research Chair in Eating Disorders, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Kathleen Rice, Canada Research Chair in Medical Anthropology of Primary Health Care, SSHRC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Hanadi Sleiman, Canada Research Chair in DNA Nanoscience, NSERC, Tier 1 (Renewal)
  • Maryam Tabrizian, Canada Research Chair in Regenerative Medicine and Nanomedicine, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • Eran Tal, Canada Research Chair in Data Ethics, SSHRC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Debra Titone, Canada Research Chair in Language and Multilingualism, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
  • David Wright, Canada Research Chair in History of Health Policy, SSHRC, Tier 1 (Renewal)
  • Robert Zatorre, Canada Research Chair in Auditory Cognitive Neuroscience, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago

It seems like you ran with last year’s (2019) list of recipients, yet the 2020 results are what is new.

Neale Mcdevitt
3 years ago
Reply to  Irene

No. The 2020 competition is still open. The results that were recently announced were from the 2019 competition.