Munroe-Blum gets nod as Great Montrealer

McGill's Principal and Vice-Chancellor, and now Great Montrealer, Heather Munroe-Blum. / Photo: Christinne Muschi
McGill's Principal and Vice-Chancellor, and Great Montrealer, Heather Munroe-Blum. / Photo: Christinne Muschi

By Neale McDevitt

Members include Stanley Cup champions, award-winning artists, trend-setting business leaders and visionary men and women who have helped shape the world in which we live. The Academy of Great Montrealers, as selected by the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal (BTMM), is a veritable Who’s Who of local luminaries that include the likes of Pierre Elliot Trudeau, Maurice “Rocket” Richard, Charles Bronfman, Jeanne Sauvé and Denys Arcand. And now, as announced by the BTMM on Aug. 28, you can add Principal Heather Munroe-Blum to that exclusive club.

One of four new Great Montrealers, Munroe-Blum was selected in the Scientific Sector. She will be joined Rémi Marcoux, Executive Chairman of the Board, Transcontinental Inc. in the Economic Sector; Denise Robert, President and Producer, Cinémaginaire in the Cultural Sector; and Peter Howlett, President, Portage in the Social Sector. The quartet will be honoured at a ceremony at the Centre d’archives de Montréal on October 29.

“The Board of Trade is proud to honour four exceptional personalities who have changed the face of their respective spheres of activity while leaving their mark on our city’s history. Montréal and the whole of Quebec are privileged to have such passionate and talented individuals who contribute to our community’s evolution while justly representing us beyond our borders. They are certainly influential and inspiring role models, not only for the new generation, but also for the entire Montréal community,” stated Isabelle Hudon, President and CEO of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal.

Munroe-Blum joins a growing list of McGillians included in the 106-member Academy. Professors Brenda Milner, Charles Taylor, Margret Locke and Henry Mintzberg are just a few people from the McGill community who have been so honoured in recent years.