Kudos for the week of Oct 31., 2011

A tip of the Kudos crown to the McGill Quidditch team, new Canadian Medical Hall of Fame inductees Dr. F. Clarke Fraser and Dr. Peter T. Macklem, Pfizer nursing prize winner Andréanne Saucier and Bruce Naylor Award recipient David Green.
Members of the McGill Quidditch team are all smiles after winning the Canada Quidditch Cup in Ottawa last Saturday.

Quidditch team best in nation

McGill’s Quidditch team is No.1 in the nation after winning the inaugural Canada Quidditch Cup in Ottawa on Saturday with a resounding 160-80 win over Carleton University in the finals. The team now ranks eighth in the world and will head to New York City on Nov. 12 to compete in the World Quidditch Cup, which has some 100 teams participating.

McGill duo to go to Medical Hall of Fame

Dr. F. Clarke Fraser, one of Canada’s first medical geneticists, and Dr. Peter T. Macklem (1931-2011), one of the country’s greatest pulmonary clinician-scientists, will be inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. These pioneers carried out their illustrious medical careers primarily at McGill and three hospitals of the MUHC. In March 2012, they and five other inductees will join 88 laureates in Canada’s pantheon of medical heroes.

Saucier wins top nursing award

Andréanne Saucier, Associate Director of Nursing for Cancer Care and Respiratory Services, and Assistant Prof. of Nursing, was awarded the 2011 Canadian Association of Oncology Nurses (CANO) Pfizer Award of Excellence for Leadership at the September annual conference of CANO.

Saucier has led the way in strengthening oncology and palliative care nursing within Quebec and beyond by articulating a clear vision for the scope of nursing practice to support patients and families coping with cancer, developing teaching aides for patients, conducting clinical research on the effectiveness of the nursing interventions (symptom management, pivot nursing role), training hundreds of practitioners and creating high performing inter-professional oncology teams.

David Green receives Naylor Award

Prof. David M. Green, Director of the Redpath Museum, noted conservationist and an expert on amphibians, is the recipient of the 2011 Bruce Naylor Award. This award recognizes exceptional contributions to the museum-based study of natural history in Canada. Green has made his mark over a 30-year career as a scientist, museum administrator, teacher and conservation advocate.