Prize-winning scholars advocate for immigrant women, killer whales, and a balanced society

McGill celebrates the winners of the 2024 President’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media
Winners of the President’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media (l to r): Rita Yang, Hani Rukh-E-Qamar, Ana-Maria Dumitrache, Barry Eidlin, McGill President Deep Saini, Henry Mintzberg, Anna Kim, and Anaïs Remili Frédérique Mazerolle

McGill University has announced the winners and runners-up of the 2024 President’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media. The Prize was created to recognize outstanding achievement among those who share their knowledge on a vast range of subjects with the media and the public. This year, there were applicants from 11 of the 12 faculties, a sign that sharing knowledge and a love of learning continue to be embedded in McGill’s DNA.

Awards are given out each year in four categories: student groups, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, early-career researchers, and established faculty members.

Advocating for rights and resources of immigrant women

The winner of the Prize for Groups is the Canadian Advisory of Women Immigrants (CAWI), a community organization dedicated to empowering immigrant women in Canada through advocacy efforts. In selecting the winning group, the jury noted its commitment to sharing knowledge and expertise on sexual and reproductive health to immigrant women in a variety of ways, ranging from interviews to workshops in collaboration with community partners.

The runners-up this year are McGill iGEM and the Memory Lab.

Raising the alarm on contaminants in killer whales’ diets

Anaïs Remili, Postdoctoral Researcher in the Department of Natural Resource Sciences, is the winner of the Prize for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows. In selecting her, the jury highlighted Remili’s unparalleled commitment to science communication, particularly regarding her research on feeding ecology and North Atlantic killer whales.

The runners-up are Luisa Castaneda-Quintana and Amedeo Boccheni Giusto, PhD candidates in the Faculty of Law, and Felicia Gisondi, MSc student in the Department of Psychiatry.

Toward sustainable local development through entrepreneurship

The winner of this year’s Prize for Emerging Researchers is Anna Kim, Associate Professor and Peter Brojde Faculty Scholar in Entrepreneurship in the Desautels Faculty of Management. In selecting her as the winner, the jury underscored her commitment to disseminating research on entrepreneurship and sustainability through traditional and social media platforms, all whilst engaging the public in meaningful dialogue.

The runners-up in this category are Nicolas Ajzenman, Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics, and Houman Farzin, Faculty Lecturer in the Department of Family Medicine.

The power of rebalancing society

Henry Mintzberg, John Cleghorn Professor of Management Studies in the Desautels Faculty of Management, is the winner of the Prize for Established Academics. In choosing him as the winner, the jury underlined his success in leveraging his influence to address real-world challenges that resonate with diverse audiences on various topics related to not only business strategy and management, but also societal shifts at large, through countless media mentions, presentations, books, and other outreach efforts.

The runners-up this year are  Parisa Ariya, James McGill Professor cross-appointed to the Departments of Atmsopheric and Oceanic Sciences and Chemistry, and Allison Christians, Full Professor and H. Heward Stikeman Chair in Tax Law in the Faculty of Law.

Hot labour summer and beyond

The Changemaker Prize, for which you cannot apply but must be nominated, is awarded on an occasional basis to individuals whose dedication to sharing their knowledge with the media and  public has had a major impact on society.

This year’s Changemaker Prize was awarded to Barry Eidlin, Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology. In selecting him as the Changemaker, the McGill Media Relations Office highlighted his broad efforts to shed light on the causes and impacts of the unprecedented strike action over the past year in various sectors. The strikes affected everyone from autoworkers to actors and writers. Prof. Eidlin provided highly understandable and nuanced commentary stemming from his deep historical and sociological understanding of North American trade unionism. Prof. Eidlin’s work also affected policy – notably, his testimony before Canada’s House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade and expert commentary on the seaport workers’ strike in Vancouver.

See the individual winners below

Notify of

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, comments appear with first and last names (no pseudonyms) and may be published in whole or in part, at the discretion of the Reporter. Please be constructive and respectful; all comments are moderated according to the Reporter’s guidelines. We reserve the right to close comments on individual stories. Please note that the University does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments